With carved woods
At the feet of the important figures who play the main roles in the works of the great ancients, the masters of wood engraving, there is often a whole small world drawn with an alert pen - we hear it squealing - or with the tip of the nose. brush - we see it bending and bouncing - with a withdrawn, playful, almost casual gesture: three tufts of grass, pebbles, a flower, a few twigs, where otherwise there would be nothing. They are, miraculously, engraved in the wood very faithfully to the gesture which made them appear, with the same assurance, without losing any of the lightness of the outline.
This is where my gaze goes first, as when we let ourselves be absorbed by the thousand and one things that adorn the roadsides: tiny mushrooms on an old stump, snail shell, feather fallen to the ground, stones that shine at the bottom of a small stream. There are also, behind the characters, distant landscapes, rocks with improbable shapes, and also trees, gigantic trees with all kinds of details which are all providers, for the eye, of a gourmet pleasure to detect. the slightest occurrence.
The trees are like writings, round and supple for some, nervous and tight for others; with a grammar too, for each species, which gives us its intelligence and feeling. There is a challenge for the pen, the brush or the pen, to translate them on the paper, then, for the gouge, the nail and the knife, not to betray them.
It is the openings towards the sky that reveal the principle, rather than the trunk, the branches or the leaves themselves. Wood engraving leads to this observation even better than painting or photography because the space between things is the very material that we work to make them exist.
The gaze embraces the whole, grasps it in parts, assembles them according to the mood and the need, which we will scrupulously try to inscribe in the wood itself, without too many illusions of achieving it, but in the heart without doubt the hope of conceiving a version of it which brings equal happiness.
As when a jazzband seizes a melody and metamorphoses it.
Engraving gives the power to decompose and recompose the world at will. You can take turns undressing it, then adorning it with the most extravagant fabrics: reducing it to its simplest expression, black and white, the rhythm section, before the color plates intervene, the soloists' improvisations. Unless it's the other way around.
What some people experience in the presence of music, or the ocean, an irresistible attraction to this balm, this elixir, this spiritual wine, this last resort when everything is bad, can also be found at the corner of a wood, at the bend of a field, at the foot of a hill.
This is where I am most often brought to draw. Nightfall seems to me to lend itself better than the day when everything is so bright. Plunge the gaze into the darkness: it seems made for that. The sum of what one guesses there undoes the vain distinction between what is real and what is not. Bathing there exalts the eye better than full noon and reveals its unsuspected resources. The beings who inhabit the dark-obscure are of the kind that one sees in the clouds, the wood, the stone or the stain of humidity on the wall. They are our auxiliaries, our imaginary friends, born of our mind and projected onto the screen of the phenomenal world. In the blink of an eye they are there, transform or disappear, amiable or terrifying depending on the mental constellation of the moment. They have been operating from our inner worlds towards the surface of things for millennia, beckoning us, challenging us, accompanying us. Their capture in Indian ink is considered a source of felicity. Engraving them in wood and printing them are all the more so, as if giving them substance in this way was what they expected of us. At other times, the power and grace, the splendor and the mystery of the tree are found at night as in majesty, when nothing distracts you from it, and conducive to the exclusive and silent dialogue with it, which gives me, to me, a kind of legitimacy to the action of drawing it, engraving it, printing it. When the day breaks, there will always be time to measure all its vanity, without any shame.
These engravings are not illustrations of ideas, nor of stories, nor of comments on the world. If they said something it would be rather: Look. Watch for a long time, don't rush to think about it, just watch. Much like listening to music intently, the flow of thoughts slows down and hearing takes precedence over all other considerations.
Engravers, we are creating a kingdom for ourselves. In the few square centimeters of the board, we shave mountains, erect dams, flood deserts, until only the drawing emerges on the surface of the wood. All that remains is to provide him with just the ink necessary for his reproduction so that he can go and live his life on the walls of houses or in the pages of a book.
In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Aux bois gravés
Aux pieds des importants personnages qui tiennent les rôles principaux dans les œuvres des grands anciens, des maîtres de la gravure sur bois, se trouve souvent tout un petit monde dessiné d'une plume alerte - on l'entend crisser- ou de la pointe du pinceau - on le voit ployer et rebondir - d'un geste enlevé, badin, presque désinvolte : trois touffes d'herbe, des cailloux, une fleurette, quelques brindilles, là où sinon il n'y aurait rien. Ils sont, miracle, gravés dans le bois très fidèlement au geste qui les fit apparaître, avec la même assurance, sans rien perdre de la légèreté du tracé.
C'est là que se porte en premier mon regard, comme lorsque nous nous laissons absorber par les mille et une choses qui ornent le bord des chemins : minuscules champignons sur une vieille souche, coquille d'escargot, plume tombée à terre, pierres qui brillent au fond d'un petit ruisseau. Il y a aussi, derrière les personnages, des paysages lointains, des rochers aux formes improbables, et aussi des arbres, des arbres gigantesques avec toutes sortes de détails qui sont tous pourvoyeurs, pour l’œil, d'un plaisir gourmand à en déceler la moindre occurrence.
Les arbres sont comme des écritures, ronde et souple pour les uns, nerveuse et serrée pour d'autres ; avec une grammaire aussi, pour chaque espèce, qui nous en livre l'intelligence et le sentiment. Il y a un défi pour la plume, le pinceau ou le calame, à les traduire sur le papier, puis, pour la gouge, l'onglette et le couteau, à ne pas les trahir.
Ce sont les trouées vers le ciel qui en révèlent le principe, plutôt que le tronc, les branches ou les feuilles eux-mêmes. La gravure sur bois mène à ce constat mieux encore que la peinture ou la photographie car l'espace entre les choses est la matière même que nous travaillons pour les faire exister.
Le regard embrasse le tout, le saisit par parties, les assemble selon l'humeur et la nécessité, que l'on va scrupuleusement tenter d'inscrire dans le bois même, sans trop d'illusions d'y parvenir, mais au cœur sans doute l'espoir d'en concevoir une version qui procure un égal bonheur .
Comme lorsqu'un jazzband s'empare d'une mélodie et la métamorphose.
La gravure donne le pouvoir de décomposer et de recomposer le monde au gré du regard. On peut tour à tour le déshabiller, puis le parer des étoffes les plus extravagantes : le réduire à sa plus simple expression, le noir et blanc, la section rythmique, avant que n'interviennent les plaques couleur, les improvisations des solistes. A moins que ça ne soit l'inverse.
Ce qu'éprouvent certains en présence de musique, ou de l'océan, une attirance irrésistible pour ce baume, cet élixir, ce vin spirituel, cet ultime recours quand tout va mal, se trouve aussi au coin d'un bois, au détour d'un champs, au pied d'une colline.
C'est là que je suis amené le plus souvent à dessiner. La tombée de la nuit me semble, à moi, s'y prêter mieux que le jour où tout est si brillant. Plonger le regard dans l'obscurité : elle semble faite pour cela . La somme de ce qu'on y devine défait la vaine distinction entre le réel et ce qui ne l'est pas. S'y baigner exalte l’œil mieux que le plein midi et en révèle les ressources insoupçonnées. Les êtres qui peuplent le sombre-obscur sont de la sorte que l'on voit dans les nuages, le bois, la pierre ou la tache d'humidité sur le mur. Ils sont nos auxiliaires, nos amis imaginaires, nés de notre esprit et projetés sur l'écran du monde phénoménal. En un clin d’œil ils sont là, se transforment ou disparaissent, aimables ou terrifiants selon la constellation mentale du moment. Ils opèrent, depuis des millénaires, de nos mondes intérieurs vers la surface des choses, nous font signe, nous défient, nous accompagnent. Leur capture à l'encre de chine est réputée source de félicité. Les graver dans le bois et les imprimer le sont d'autant plus, comme si leur donner ainsi corps était ce qu'ils attendaient de nous. D'autres fois, la puissance et la grâce, la splendeur et le mystère de l'arbre se trouvent la nuit comme en majesté, quand rien ne vous en distrait, et propices au dialogue exclusif et silencieux avec lui, qui me donne, à moi, une sorte de légitimité à l'action de le dessiner, de le graver, de l'imprimer. Le jour levé, il sera toujours temps d'en mesurer toute la vanité, sans vergogne aucune.
 
Ces gravures ne sont pas des illustrations d'idées, ni d'histoires, ni des commentaires sur le monde. Si elles disaient quelque chose ce serait plutôt : Regardez. Regarder longtemps, ne pas se précipiter pour en penser quelque chose, juste regarder. Tout comme, écoutant attentivement une musique, le flot des pensées ralentit et l'ouïe prend le dessus sur tout autre considération.
Graveurs, nous nous créons un royaume. Dans les quelques centimètres carrés de la planche, nous rasons des montagnes, érigeons des barrages, inondons des déserts, jusqu'à que seul le dessin émerge à la surface du bois. Ne reste plus qu'à lui prodiguer juste l'encre nécessaire à sa reproduction de sorte qu'il aille vivre sa vie aux murs des maisons ou dans les pages d'un livre.